The Desires of Your Heart

Standard

Psalm 37:4-5 – Delight yourself in the Lord; And He will give you the desires of your heart. Commit your way to the Lord, Trust also in Him, and He will do it.

How many times have we heard these verses, or at least the “idea” of these verses? I can’t count. BUT, what I know is that since I’m a Christian, I’ve committed my ways and trust in God. So basically, if I ask for something… God will give that to me. I mean, within reason of course. I don’t expect God to give me a million dollars just because I ask for it. That’s just silly.

I will admit, I’m terrible at praying. Not only the lack of prayers I send up, but the subject. Does this sound familiar to you?

“God, please allow my boss to really see what I’ve brought to the table this year and give me that raise that You and I know I deserve.”

“God, please have my husband do something romantic for Valentine’s Day.”

“God, please let me ovulate and know when to have sex so we can have a successful pregnancy.”

The desires of my heart. I want to be happy and successful. I want to get pregnant and have a baby. I really think those are reasonable requests. I’m a good Christian, so of course God wants to give me the desires of my heart, right? Well… yes, He does. But what does this verse ACTUALLY refer to? Let me provide some insight. Because I did just google it, so I’m now an expert (all hail the search engine). This commentary stood out to me: “To delight in God is as much a privilege as a duty. He has not promised to gratify the appetites of the body, and the humours of the fancy, but the desires of the renewed, sanctified soul. What is the desire of the heart of a good man? It is this, to know, and love, and serve God.” (Matthew Henry’s Concise Commentary). God never said “I’ll give you what you want”. We are a sinful creature. Of course God isn’t going to fulfill our earthly desires. What IS the desire of someone who has truly committed their way to the Lord? To know, and love, and serve God. For God’s will to be done in our lives.

I like analogies. I think of it this way… If you have a kid and they say “Mom, I’d really like to eat this plate of cookies. It is the desire of my heart and I love you. Will you please allow me to have them?” (Super well spoken, polite kid.) You’re obviously going to say, “Well since you love me and this is what you want, here you go…”  You know that’s not good for them and going to make them miserable in the long run, so you tell them no. God isn’t going to just make me pregnant because I ask Him to. He isn’t going to make my boss give me a big raise because I think I deserve it. He will, however draw me closer to Him, fulfill His will in my life, and bring me pure joy and happiness through a deeper relationship with Him.

I need to continually remind myself of this. I can’t just keep asking God to fulfill my wants. I need to love Him and praise Him and draw close to him in order to align my desires with His desires for me.

Not mine, but may YOUR will be done! (And smack me up side the head as many times as it takes to stick…)

5 thoughts on “The Desires of Your Heart

  1. I have studied this verse often. To delight in someone means to experience great pleasure and joy in his or her presence. This is sometimes where I go wrong when I come to Him prayer. It’s usually all about me…I don’t just sit and enjoy His presence. I don’t just listen to Him and let Him love on me. I just throw up my requests for the day…say some thank you’s and hurry on to the next task of the day. I’m learning to try and delight in Him. He craves for us to and that’s what I want to do. Thank you for sharing 🙂 Have a great weekend.

    waitingforbabybird.com

  2. Love this!! I’ve been learning the same thing about delighting myself in Him. I would encourage you to buy the e-book Jesus Calling by Sarah Young sometime. It’s a short 365 daily read of Christ speaking to us. It’s been helpful to sit and LISTEN rather talk.

  3. Debbie Osenni

    Wow – that is a great reminder. I prayed so much for you during those teen and early adult years. It is so refreshing for me to read what you are writing. I think when we go through tough times, we do more sorting out what is really important and what our real desires are. Love you!

Leave a Reply

